Regents honor six UTMB faculty members for outstanding teaching

The University of Texas System Board of Regents has awarded six faculty members at the University of Texas Medical Branch with the top teaching prize in the UT System: the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award.

One of the nation’s most competitive teaching awards, the regents’ award recognizes educators for their performance in the classroom and their dedication to innovation and advancing excellence. Each recipient will receive a $25,000 award and will be honored at a dinner hosted by the Board of Regents on August 19th in Austin.

Congratulations to our 2015 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award recipients:

Kimberly Brown, MD

Associate Professor in our Department of Surgery, Director of Surgical Simulation Surgery Clerkship Director, Associate Program Director for the General Surgery Residency, Medical Director for the PA Studies Program and holder of the Thompson Family Distinguished Professorship for Surgical Simulation

Lisa Cain, PhD

Associate Professor in our Department of Neuroscience & Cell Biology, Director of Medical School Enrichment Programs and Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs

Mark Holden, MD, FACP

Professor in our Department of Internal Medicine, Vice Chair for Undergraduate and Continuing Medical Education, Director of General Internal Medicine and holder of the Edna S. and William C. Levin Professorship in Internal Medicine

Susan McCammon, MD

Associate Professor and Vice Chair in our Department of Otolaryngology, Residency Program Director Scholar in the John P. McGovern Academy of Oslerian Medicine and holder of the Jehu Matthews Robison Distinguished Professorship in Otolaryngology

Victor Reyes, PhD

Professor in our Departments of Pediatrics and Microbiology & Immunology

Carolyn Utsey, PT, PhD

Associate Professor and Chair in our Department of Physical Therapy and holder of the Winfree Professorship in Physical Therapy